Firearm Safety, Information, Education and Training   •   Personal Safety & Crime Prevention

Shield Personal Safety Training Logo
Shield Personal Safety Training wordmark

Other courses that may interest you:

​​​​Course Name: Basic Pistol Shooting Class
​Course Description: Basic Firearm Safety, Pistol Shooting Fundamentals, Basic Pistol Shooting Skills

Course Fee: $145.00
 Sunday, October 23, 2022 (Class Full. Please Contact Us to request to be placed on the Pistol I master waiting list.)
Time: 9:00am - 3:00pm
Location: Angeles Shooting Ranges, 12651 N Little Tujunga Canyon Rd, Lake View Terrace, CA 91342

This is the first in a series of three pistol shooting skills courses.

If any of the following apply to you, this course is for you:

  • You're a complete newbie to firearms, and you want to acquire knowledge about firearms and gun safety.
  • You would like to gain the confidence knowing that you know how to safely and responsibly handle, store and use a pistol.
  • Firearms make you nervous or scared, and you want to overcome those emotions with knowledge.
  • You just purchased or want to purchase your first handgun, and you want to make sure that you know what you're doing with it.
  • You have some experience with firearms, but never took any formal training, and would now like to get that training in order to improve your shooting skills and accuracy.
  • You want to have the tools and training to protect yourself, and this is a stepping stone to one of our more advanced courses or other more advanced training.

This is an entry-level course, and includes comprehensive education, plenty of hands-on instruction, exercises and coaching.  No prior firearms experience is necessary.  However as stated above, if you do have some shooting experience, but have never actually taken any formal training, you might find that proper coaching of the basic shooting fundamentals taught in this class will help with your accuracy and speed.

This course meets the training requirement for Arizona and Florida non-resident concealed carry permits, and possibly some other CCW permits currently and in the future.

Completion of this course (or similar training or experience) is a recommended prerequisite to our Pistol Shooting II Course.

This Course Covers The Following Topics and Skills:

  • Basic Firearm Safety
  • Gun Storage
  • Gun Transportation
  • Parts of the Pistol
  • Parts of Ammunition
  • Firing Process
  • Pistol Operation
  • Malfunctions
  • ​Basic Pistol Shooting Fundamentals: Aiming, Grip, Stance, Breath Control, Trigger Control, Follow-Through
  • Range Safety and Etiquette
  • Range Commands
  • How to Select a Pistol
  • Pistol Maintenance
  • How to Practice at Home and at the Range


  • None


  • Participants must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Participants under the age of 21 must be accompanied by another person 21 years of age or older who is also enrolled in the class or has previously taken the class.
  • Participants must bring a government issued photo ID.
  • Participants must sign a liability release form.
  • ​Women who are pregnant, or think they may be pregnant, may not participate in this activity.  This is for the baby's health and safety.
  • ​​Participants must not be legally prohibited from possessing firearms.  Refer to the "California Firearm Laws Summary" document on the CA DOJ Bureau of Firearms web page for specifics on "Persons Ineligible to Possess Firearms".

Students Must Bring:

  • Chair - There are no chairs at the private range.  This is optional if you don't mind standing the whole time (like the instructor will be).
  • Eye protection (most sunglasses or prescription eye wear will do)
  • Weather appropriate clothing.  This class is held outdoors, partially under cover, partially out in the open.
  • ​Plenty of drinking water
  • ​A quick lunch and/or snacks


  • Handgun optional (semi-automatic or revolver) - If you don't have your own handgun, we can provide a .22LR caliber semi-automatic pistol for those who don't mind handling a pistol that is also handled by the instructor and other students.
  • If you use your own handgun, you must bring and use your own ammunition, 100 rounds (no steel core, steel or bi-metal jacketed ammo)
  • Hearing protection optional (we will provide disposable foam ear plugs if you don't have your own hearing protection)
  • Pen optional (Please use your own pen to sign the liability release form.  We will give you a promotional pen if you don't bring one.)
  • Notepad optional - bring only if you wish to take notes

Course Fee: $145.00

Course Fee Includes:

  • Range fees, targets
  • Gun rental and ammunition (COVID-19 Note: You may bring and use your own handgun and ammunition, if you prefer not to handle a handgun that is also handled by the instructor and other students.)
  • Certificate of Course Completion, which will meet the training requirement for some CCW permits.

NRA Certified Course Option:
The NRA Basic Pistol Shooting Course consists of the exact same instruction given in this "non-affiliated" Basic Pistol Shooting Course.  The only difference is that for the NRA course, there are a few additional tasks that the student must complete: NRA range qualification, NRA Performance Requirements Checklist, and NRA written test.  These additional tasks will add approximately 1 hour to the duration of the course.  Course fee for the NRA course is $175.00, and includes the NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting book and an NRA Certificate of Completion.  Contact Us to inquire about signing up for the NRA Certified Course.

Optional CA Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC): $25.00
Pursuant to Penal Code section 26840, any person who acquires a firearm in California must have a CA Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC), unless they are statutorily exempt from the FSC requirement.  To obtain an FSC, a person must pass a Department of Justice (DOJ) written test on firearm safety.  If you need to get or renew your FSC, you can take your test and get your FSC after the class for $25.00.  The DOJ FSC Study Guide can be found here.  This is a separate additional service, requiring additional time at the end of class.  You must have a California Driver's License or a California DMV ID to take the FSC test.

Class Registration:
Your space in the class is reserved by your payment of the course fee.  Please click one of the "Pay Now" buttons below to make your payment.  After making payment, you will be brought to a registration page to fill in student information.  Cancellations will incur a 5% service fee up until 14 days prior to the class date.  Payments are non-refundable after 14 days prior to the class date.  To cancel, email or call 818-434-4828.  Class may be cancelled by the instructor 1-2 weeks prior to the class due to lack of registration or payments, in which case any payments made will be refunded in full.  Please Contact Us if you have any questions.  Thank you.

Utah CCW Class

Basic Pistol Shooting Class - Lake View Terrace, CA - Sunday, October 23, 2022 9:00am-3:00pm - CLASS FULL

$145.00 for Class Only.

Class Registration:
There has been a recent huge demand for this training course, and we are currently seeing about a 8 month wait to get into one of our Basic Pistol Shooting classes.  Please Contact Us to be put on the waiting list for future classes.  Thank you.

Below are the costs for different class options.

Basic Handgun Safety Course

$170.00 for Class plus CA Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC)

Defensive Pistol Shooting Skills Course
Home > Training > Pistol Shooting I Course > Pistol I Class 2022-10-23
Concealed Carry Shooting Skills Course
SIRT Training Pistols
Concealment Express Holsters
Vedder Holsters
Join NRA
Copyright ©   Shield Personal Safety Training. All Rights Reserved.